From the Mouths of Dogs: A Discussion With the Author and His Dog

hi

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

A guest review/interview from Eric Rasmussen:

zz DogsHoly hell, do my kids want a dog.

My wife and I want to get them one, of course, because what sort of childhood would we be providing if we didn’t? A youth without games of fetch, dog slobber, and fights over yard cleanup, without important lessons concerning responsibility and mortality, is a pathetic youth indeed.

But still. My children are just old enough now that the entire house can manage its own bathrooming. Nothing chews on my shoes or requires late-night, mid-winter walks or needs medicine for worms. I take time to consciously enjoy all these aspects of my life.

So, when author BJ Hollars and I planned to meet to discuss his new book, From the Mouths of Dogs: What Our Pets Teach Us About Life, Death, and Being Human, I threw my kids and their side of the argument a bone…

View original post 776 more words

Leave a Reply

